4 best cruelty-free nail polishes from certified brands, compared
The best cruelty-free nail polishes cost $2.99 to $17.00, checked on October 2, 2026. essence Gel Nail Polish is the pick under $3 at $2.99, ella+mila Nail Polish is the pick for a 17-free formula at $10.50 and ORLY Breathable the pick as a treatment and color at $10.99. Every brand on the list is certified by Leaping Bunny, Cruelty Free International or PETA.
Cruelty-Free Check editorial teamPublished

Fact sheet: Nail polish
- Product
- Nail polish
- Picks
- 4
- Price range
- $2.99 to $17.00
- Prices checked
- October 2, 2026
4 cruelty-free nail polishes compared by formula and price
The 4 cruelty-free nail polishes compared below cost $2.99 to $17.00 and come from brands that a certifier lists today. One is a drugstore pick and three are mid-range.
| # | Product | Best for | Certification | Vegan | Rating | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | essence Gel Nail Polishdrugstore | gel finish, fast-drying | PETA | Not stated | — | $2.99essencemakeup.com, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 2 | ella+mila Nail Polishmid-range | 17-free | PETA | Not stated | — | $10.50ellamila.com, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 3 | ORLY Breathable Treatment + Colormid-range | treatment + color | Leaping Bunny | Not stated | 4.2/5414 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $10.99Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 4 | Mooncat Nail Lacquermid-range | 10-free | PETA | Yes | — | $17.00mooncat.com, Oct 2, 2026 |
1. essence Gel Nail Polish: the best cruelty-free nail polish under $3
essence Gel Nail Polish is the best cruelty-free nail polish under $3, at $2.99 at essencemakeup.com on October 2, 2026. essence describes a broad double-touch brush and a fast-drying formula that sets in 40 seconds with a long-lasting gel finish. PETA lists essence as cruelty-free.
2. ella+mila Nail Polish: the best cruelty-free nail polish for a 17-free formula
ella+mila Nail Polish is the best cruelty-free nail polish for a 17-free formula, at $10.50 at ellamila.com on October 2, 2026. ella+mila sells its nail polish with a 17-free formula. PETA lists ella+mila as cruelty-free.
3. ORLY Breathable: the best cruelty-free nail polish as a treatment and color
ORLY Breathable Treatment + Color is the best cruelty-free nail polish as a treatment and color, at $10.99 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. ORLY describes an all-in-one, longer-lasting formula for longer, stronger, healthier nails, and Ulta listed it at $7.69 on sale the same day. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.2 out of 5 across 414 reviews. Leaping Bunny certifies ORLY.
4. Mooncat Nail Lacquer: the best cruelty-free nail polish as a vegan lacquer
Mooncat Nail Lacquer is the best cruelty-free nail polish as a vegan lacquer, at $17.00 at mooncat.com on October 2, 2026. Mooncat labels its lacquers 10-free. PETA lists Mooncat as cruelty-free. Mooncat states that it is 100% cruelty-free and vegan.
Which cruelty-free nail polishes are vegan?
The cruelty-free nail polishes in this list include one vegan pick, Mooncat Nail Lacquer. The other brands do not state a vegan status for these products.
What is the price of cruelty-free nail polish?
The price of cruelty-free nail polish is $2.99 to $17.00 across these 4 picks. In this list, the drugstore pick costs $2.99 and the mid-range picks cost $10.50 to $17.00. The cheapest certified pick, essence Gel Nail Polish, costs $14.01 less than Mooncat Nail Lacquer, the most expensive one. Prices are the Ulta Beauty, ellamila.com, essencemakeup.com and mooncat.com prices on October 2, 2026.
How do you check that a nail polish is cruelty-free?
You check that a nail polish is cruelty-free by looking up the brand, not the product, on a certifier’s list. A certification covers the whole brand and its suppliers, and the word “cruelty-free” on a package is an unregulated claim in the US.
- ORLY meets the Leaping Bunny standard or its international version, which requires supplier monitoring and independent audits.
- essence, ella+mila and Mooncat appear as cruelty-free in PETA's cruelty-free listing, which rests on a signed statement of assurance from each brand and its suppliers.
Which other cruelty-free makeup goes with these nail polishes?
The other cruelty-free makeup that goes with these nail polishes is listed below, from the same certified brands.
- More certified makeup under $15 is in our cruelty-free drugstore makeup.
Is there cruelty-free drugstore nail polish?
Yes, there is cruelty-free drugstore nail polish: essence Gel Nail Polish costs $2.99 and essence is certified.
Does cruelty-free nail polish mean vegan?
No, cruelty-free nail polish does not mean vegan nail polish. Cruelty-free refers to animal testing, and vegan refers to animal-derived ingredients. Leaping Bunny states that its list does not cover the composition of ingredients.
Sources
- essencemakeup.com, essence Gel Nail Polish (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- ellamila.com, ella+mila Nail Polish (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- Ulta Beauty, ORLY Breathable Treatment + Color (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- mooncat.com, Mooncat Nail Lacquer (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, essence
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, ella+mila
- Leaping Bunny, ORLY (certified since 2008)
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, Mooncat
- Leaping Bunny, Frequently Asked Questions (vegan status of certified companies)