5 best cruelty-free drugstore makeup products from certified brands, compared
The best cruelty-free drugstore makeup products cost $4.99 to $15.00, checked on October 2, 2026. essence Baby Got Blush is the pick under $5 at $4.99, NYX Butter Gloss is the pick for lip gloss at $6.00 and e.l.f. Power Grip Primer the pick as a primer at $11.00. Every brand on the list is certified by Leaping Bunny, Cruelty Free International or PETA.
Cruelty-Free Check editorial teamPublished

Fact sheet: Drugstore makeup
- Product
- Drugstore makeup
- Picks
- 5
- Price range
- $4.99 to $15.00
- Prices checked
- October 2, 2026
5 cruelty-free drugstore makeup products compared by formula and price
The 5 cruelty-free drugstore makeup products compared below cost $4.99 to $15.00 and come from brands that a certifier lists today. All five are drugstore picks.
| # | Product | Best for | Certification | Vegan | Rating | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | essence Baby Got Blushdrugstore | cream blush, multi-use | PETA | Not stated | 4.3/5172 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $4.99Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 2 | NYX Butter Gloss Non-Sticky Lip Glossdrugstore | lip gloss, non-sticky | PETA | Not stated | 4.5/57,460 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $6.00Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 3 | e.l.f. Power Grip Primerdrugstore | primer, gel | Leaping Bunny, PETA (vegan) | Yes | 4.7/524,666 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $11.00Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 4 | Milani Baked Blushdrugstore | powder blush, 12-hour wear | PETA | Not stated | 4.6/51,867 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $12.99Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
| 5 | e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filterdrugstore | glow, sheer coverage | Leaping Bunny, PETA (vegan) | Yes | 4.5/510,009 reviews, Ulta Beauty | $15.00Ulta Beauty, Oct 2, 2026 |
1. essence Baby Got Blush: the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup under $5
essence Baby Got Blush is the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup under $5, at $4.99 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. essence sells it as a cream blush stick for cheeks that can be applied to lips and eyelids. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.3 out of 5 across 172 reviews. PETA lists essence as cruelty-free.
2. NYX Butter Gloss: the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup for lip gloss
NYX Butter Gloss Non-Sticky Lip Gloss is the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup for lip gloss, at $6.00 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. NYX describes a silky-smooth, non-sticky lip gloss. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 7,460 reviews. PETA lists NYX as cruelty-free.
3. e.l.f. Power Grip Primer: the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup as a primer
e.l.f. Power Grip Primer is the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup as a primer, at $11.00 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. e.l.f. describes a gel-based face primer that smooths skin and grips makeup to help it last longer. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.7 out of 5 across 24,666 reviews. e.l.f. holds the Leaping Bunny certification and appears on PETA’s list with the vegan designation. e.l.f. states that its products are 100% vegan.
4. Milani Baked Blush: the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup as a powder blush
Milani Baked Blush is the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup as a powder blush, at $12.99 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. Milani describes a powder blush baked on Italian terracotta tile that gives radiant color for up to 12 hours. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.6 out of 5 across 1,867 reviews. PETA lists Milani as cruelty-free.
5. e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filter: the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup for glow
e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filter is the best cruelty-free drugstore makeup for glow, at $15.00 at Ulta Beauty on October 2, 2026. e.l.f. describes a liquid filter that gives the skin a soft-focus radiance, worn alone for sheer coverage. Ulta Beauty shoppers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 10,009 reviews. e.l.f. holds the Leaping Bunny certification and appears on PETA’s list with the vegan designation. e.l.f. states that its products are 100% vegan.
Which cruelty-free drugstore makeup products are vegan?
The cruelty-free drugstore makeup products in this list that are vegan are e.l.f. Power Grip Primer and e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filter. The other brands do not state a vegan status for these products.
What is the price of cruelty-free drugstore makeup?
The price of cruelty-free drugstore makeup is $4.99 to $15.00 across these 5 picks. In this list, the drugstore picks cost $4.99 to $15.00. The cheapest certified pick, essence Baby Got Blush, costs $10.01 less than e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filter, the most expensive one. Prices are the Ulta Beauty prices on October 2, 2026.
How do you check that drugstore makeup is cruelty-free?
You check that drugstore makeup is cruelty-free by looking up the brand, not the product, on a certifier’s list. A certification covers the whole brand and its suppliers, and the word “cruelty-free” on a package is an unregulated claim in the US.
- e.l.f. meets the Leaping Bunny standard or its international version, which requires supplier monitoring and independent audits.
- essence, NYX, e.l.f. and Milani appear as cruelty-free in PETA's cruelty-free listing, which rests on a signed statement of assurance from each brand and its suppliers.
Which other cruelty-free makeup goes with these drugstore makeup products?
The other cruelty-free makeup that goes with these drugstore makeup products is listed below, from the same certified brands.
- Drugstore lipsticks from the same brands are in our cruelty-free lipstick.
- Polish under $11 is in our cruelty-free nail polish.
Is all drugstore makeup cruelty-free?
No, not all drugstore makeup is cruelty-free: Maybelline, L’Oréal Paris and Revlon are drugstore brands that PETA lists among the companies that test on animals.
Does cruelty-free drugstore makeup mean vegan?
No, cruelty-free drugstore makeup does not mean vegan drugstore makeup. Cruelty-free refers to animal testing, and vegan refers to animal-derived ingredients. Leaping Bunny states that its list does not cover the composition of ingredients.
Sources
- Ulta Beauty, essence Baby Got Blush (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- Ulta Beauty, NYX Butter Gloss Non-Sticky Lip Gloss (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- Ulta Beauty, e.l.f. Power Grip Primer (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- Ulta Beauty, Milani Baked Blush (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- Ulta Beauty, e.l.f. Halo Glow Liquid Filter (price and description checked October 2, 2026)
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, essence
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, NYX Professional Makeup
- Leaping Bunny, e.l.f. Cosmetics, Inc. (certified brand listing)
- PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, Milani Cosmetics
- Leaping Bunny, Frequently Asked Questions (vegan status of certified companies)