PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List: how PETA certifies cruelty-free brands

PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List, called Beauty Without Bunnies until July 2025, lists companies that verify they and their suppliers never test on animals. PETA has kept the list since 1987. A brand signs a statement of assurance, joining is free and the logo costs a one-time $350.

Cruelty-Free Check editorial teamPublished

Fountain pen on a blank pledge next to a ceramic rabbit and unbranded bottles, illustrating PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List

Fact sheet: PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List

Certification
PETA's Ultimate Cruelty-Free List
Also known as
PETA Beauty Without Bunnies, PETA cruelty-free list
Administered by
People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA US)
Founded
1987
Regions
United States, Canada, Germany, India
Supplier commitments required
Yes
Independent audits
No
Fixed cut-off date
Not stated
Annual recommitment
Not stated
Vegan required
No
Cost to brands
Free; optional one-time logo licence of $350

How does PETA’s cruelty-free list work?

PETA’s cruelty-free list works through a statement of assurance: a company commits never to conduct, commission, pay for or allow tests on animals, for ingredients or finished products, at any stage and anywhere in the world. The company must hold agreements with its suppliers that guarantee the same from the day the agreement is signed. PETA then lists the company in its searchable database of cosmetics, personal care and household brands.

What are the 2 PETA cruelty-free designations?

The 2 PETA cruelty-free designations separate animal testing from animal ingredients.

  1. Global animal test–free recognizes companies that verified that they and their suppliers do not test on animals anywhere in the world and never will.
  2. Global animal test–free and vegan recognizes companies that meet the same requirement and whose entire product line is free of animal-derived ingredients.

Why did PETA rename Beauty Without Bunnies?

PETA renamed Beauty Without Bunnies to reflect its role as the definitive resource for brands that don’t test on animals, according to its July 1, 2025 news release. The database relaunched as PETA’s Ultimate Cruelty-Free List with a new name and a new look, and the same purpose.

Where does PETA’s cruelty-free list apply?

PETA’s cruelty-free list applies to companies that sell in the United States, Canada, Germany and India, the countries from which PETA runs the program. PETA states that its cruelty-free marks are meant for the United States, Canada and India, and no longer for the European Union, where the 2024 directive on sustainability labels sets its own rules.

How is PETA’s list different from Leaping Bunny?

PETA’s list is different from Leaping Bunny in how it checks the pledge. PETA relies on the signed statement of assurance and the supplier agreements, while Leaping Bunny requires a monitoring system of supplier declarations, openness to independent audits and a yearly renewal.

  • Leaping Bunny is the certification that adds independent audits and a yearly renewal to the supplier pledge.

How do you check if a brand is on PETA’s list?

You check if a brand is on PETA’s list by searching its name on crueltyfree.peta.org. A brand appears as cruelty-free, as a company that tests on animals or as a company that “may not be cruelty-free”, which means it has not signed PETA’s statement of assurance.

Which cruelty-free makeup is on PETA’s list?

The cruelty-free makeup on PETA’s list includes essence, Milani, Tarte, NYX and e.l.f., which holds the vegan designation as well.

Is PETA’s cruelty-free list reliable?

Yes, PETA’s cruelty-free list is reliable for a brand’s written commitment, with one limit: PETA does not require independent audits of the supplier chain. A brand on both PETA’s list and Leaping Bunny gives the strongest assurance.

Does PETA cruelty-free mean vegan?

No, PETA cruelty-free does not mean vegan unless the brand holds the “animal test–free and vegan” designation. The “animal test–free” designation alone covers animal testing, not ingredients.

Sources